Attitude is Altitude

21 Mar

This was the most moving video I have seen in quite some time. If after 4 minutes and 11 seconds I was inspired, I can only imagine the amazing impact that Nick has on audiences across the world when he holds events. Now this is a man who really makes you grateful for what you have.

Nick has a point. There are way too many people in the world who think they aren’t good enough — that they aren’t worth anything. I’ve been there and done that, and let me tell you that while it’s no walk in the park, I learned one thing pretty fast: you are the only reason you think you aren’t good enough. And before you’re like, “that’s not news,” hear me out. This isn’t a “you’re your own worst enemy” spiel, but rather a “stop blaming everyone and their mom and get over yourself” spiel. I hate to break it to you, but the greatest disservice you can do to yourself as a human being is call yourself a victim. Sure, I’ve been through hell and back in a lot of ways, and plenty of you have too, but we’re stronger than that.

If you’re unhappy with yourself or your life, try taking responsibility for it instead of chalking it up to a laundry list of “poor me’s.” Maybe you have been hurt by someone you thought you could trust. Maybe you have been through something traumatic. Maybe you have watched someone you love suffer at the hand of another person, or worse, an illness. But by using those things as an excuse to call yourself victim, you are letting them get the better of you. If you ask me, your haters and your obstacles shouldn’t be getting so much as a nod from you. If you’re going to make them a part of your life at all, don’t use them as crutches. Use them as stepping stones and rise.

8 Responses to “Attitude is Altitude”

  1. tinkerbelle86 March 21, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    what a pep talk! :)

  2. Eric Sylvester March 21, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    Hoooly crap. This is my first visit to your blog and…well… wow. That was incredibly moving. I’m a college student, which means I have lots of down time for farting around the internet when I should be studying. I thought I had seen just about everything, but I had never seen this. Truly inspiring, and I’ll be subscribing for sure :) (You wrote a fantastic companion piece to this video).

    • wheresmypulse March 21, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      I’m a college student too! Thanks for subscribing, I’m new to this whole “writing for people to read” thing so I could use all the support I can get! :) I’m really happy you liked the post. I think the video is great because it’s incredibly inspiring and serves as a fantastic reminder that we are capable of anything. And, more importantly, we should always, ALWAYS love ourselves :)

  3. Team Oyeniyi March 22, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    This entry intrigued me because I am having the exact opposite problem. As that may sound weird, please let me explain. First a quote from above: “There are way too many people in the world who think they aren’t good enough — that they aren’t worth anything”.

    I am being treated by my government as if I am not worth anything. I am refusing to accept that and fighting back, saying as a citizen of my coutnry I am deserving of my civil rights and also the protection of my health and wellbeing. I am worth it! Every citizen is worth it, but in this case I am fighting for me – I can’t start fighting for others until I have won my own battle.

  4. savinsomecash March 22, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Jeez…after watching that and reading your input it makes me look back at my week, and even my day and all of the tiny things I’ve complained about. Yowzers, I don’t even know what to say

  5. Jess J. March 22, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Borrowed words….
    “Realize that although we were ‘victims’ in our childhood, we have been ‘volunteers’ in adulthood.  When we see ourselves as volunteers, we realize we are responsible for our lives, choosing to play our parts.  When we blame others for what we do or what’s happening to us, we’re being victims, stuck in the martyr role.  When I blame, I surrender responsibility for my life, giving up my power over myself.  Then I’m demanding that someone else do something or change so that I can feel better.  When I choose to be responsible, and acknowledge that I am volunteering to be a victim, I reclaim my power and can rechart my own course, controlling my own destiny.”

    ~Don Haury

    • wheresmypulse February 1, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

      Love that quote, Jess! I definitely share that perspective.

  6. DoubleWinners May 6, 2011 at 3:41 am #

    Thanks for the reminder! Good job!

Leave a Reply

