Does it Really?

13 Mar

We’re all familiar with the phrase “my life sucks.” I know I’ve said it, and you probably have too. We all have bad days, and sometimes it feels like things couldn’t get any worse. But it seems to me that we often forget how privileged and lucky we really are. So before you casually announce that your life sucks, think about:

  • The 105,000 people who have died today.
  • The 1 billion undernourished people in the world right now.
  • The 18,000 people who have died of hunger today.
  • The 1.3 billion people in the world who don’t have access to safe drinking water.
  • The 2.2 million deaths of children under the age of 5 this year.
  • The 30.6 million people currently infected with HIV.
  • The 1.5 million people that have died from cancer this year.
  • The 210,000 suicides that have occurred this year.
  • The 43% of the world population that lives without basic sanitation.
  • The 12% of the world population that can’t read this blog post.
  • The 88% of the people in the world that don’t have a computer.
  • The fact that if you have a fridge for your food, a closet for your clothes, a bed to sleep in and a roof over your head, you are richer than 75% of the world population.

Does it really?

Appreciate what you have.

Statistics from worldometers.info and the youtube video “The Miniature Earth: 2010 Edition”

4 Responses to “Does it Really?”

  1. unknown March 24, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    I do not think ‘my life sucks’ should have to be compared to other lives. So, what you are saying is that because I was date raped, I should not utter the words “my life sucks” just because someone had died today? Or someone does not have a computer? Or I may be more financially well off than others?
    I appreciate what I have, but I do not believe I should feel guilty about saying the words “my life sucks” because tragedies come in all sorts… and who are you or anyone else to decide what tragedy is worse than the other?
    I disagree with this blog post. I enjoy your other writings, but this one was uncomfortable to read.

    • wheresmypulse March 24, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

      Hi,
      I wish I knew who you were because if I did, I could respond to this post personally but unfortunately I’ll have to do it right here for everyone to see and don’t feel comfortable sharing the things that I would like to share with you with just anyone who happens to read this comment. Please not that I used the word “casually.” Maybe I failed to be clear, but when referencing the phrase “my life sucks,” I was specifically targeting the people who DO say it on a whim (“Yeah, I had to clean the whole house today. My life sucks.” Or, “No, I can’t hang out because I have 3 papers to write. My life sucks!!”). I can’t tell by your post whether or not you’re giving me a literal or hypothetical situation, but if you’re saying you truly were date raped, then I am so sorry to hear that. I understand your pain. Please understand that I am not comparing tragedies. I am a firm believer that the worst pain that one person experiences is equally as painful as the worst pain that another person experiences, even if the cause of that pain is drastically different (perhaps for one person, their greatest pain was the day that they found out that their mother had cancer, and for another person it was the day that they were assaulted. Either way, it is the worst pain that either has been through). I apologize for not making my argument clear — I can see how it might be offensive to someone who feels that I am invalidating their feelings, but I can assure you that it was absolutely not my intention to do so. In fact, I know you anonymized all of your information, but I would really, really like to talk to you personally (not to bite, I promise!). I understand if you’d like to remain anonymous, but if you could email me at crossley@uoregon.edu I would love to have a chance to talk with you. I really hope you see this comment.

  2. unknown March 24, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Thanks for responding to my post. I really appreciate your understanding, and I am sorry I misunderstood your post!
    Thanks!

  3. Gayle M. House January 7, 2013 at 2:36 pm #

    There are actually twenty pulse points located on the body. It might be kind of fun to see if you can find them all. The ones that are used … view more.

Leave a Reply

