hyp·o·crite (noun)

9 Mar

…a person who acts in contradiction to his or her stated beliefs or feelings.

Okay, guilty. For those of you who have previously read this blog, or for those of you who scrolled to the bottom and started with my first few posts, you know what I’m talking about. In my defense, I did delete my Facebook for a solid couple of months in the fall but since you were probably directed here via Facebook, you can see that the hiatus didn’t last for long. I could try to justify myself in saying that in this generation Facebook provides a convenient and casual link between first-encounters and phone numbers which I really really needed to make friends in a new town, but then I’d also have to grab a shovel because it was only a few months ago that I was bashing the idea of social networking.

Acknowledgement of hypocrisy aside, I have decided that this is still going to be a really interesting blog about bettering yourself as a person and random cool things I feel like I should share — but for argument’s sake I’m going to modify the whole “social networking and surfing the web are evil” mantra and go with a gentler “social networking and surfing the web are good in moderation.”

Today, a friend of mine asked me what I’m giving up for Lent. Being Atheist, I hadn’t given it any thought. Apparently, deciding what to give up for Lent can be a struggle for some. So, to start spring off with a bang, I decided to make a list of things you can give up for Lent! Enjoy.

1. Taco Bell’s pseudo-meat delicacies: Okay guys, I get it. Your wallet appreciates the 88 cent deal. But I’m not so sure your body appreciates the 88 percent deal that Taco Bell’s got going on — I’d like to know who the brainiac was that thought bragging about 88 percent meat in their commercials would make my mouth water.

2. Giving up really cliche things for Lent: a specific type of candy, alcohol, Facebook — I mean, I could be wrong seeing as how I’m not very well-versed in the religion department, but isn’t Lent supposed to be difficult? Why not try coming up with something specifically tailored to yourself and your own vices? If giving up alcohol and Facebook is hard for you, let’s be honest… you’ve got a bigger problem on your hands!

3. Texting: we text because we’re afraid to be put on the spot. It’s easier to craft an eloquent response via text message than to respond immediately to someone on the phone. We’re losing genuine contact and interaction with the people around us. Why not try giving up texting for Lent and call your friends and family instead

4. Trying to beat this impossible quiz: no, seriously… don’t waste your time. It’s. Not. Possible.

5. Being judgmental: we all do it. We judge people at first glance, at first interaction, and even after knowing them for years. We judge how they look, how they smell, what they do, how they act, and what they say. You want something difficult to give up for Lent? Try this one on for size.

6. Justin Bieber: do I really need to explain?

7. Watching shows like Jersey Shore: not a single one of those guys is good looking, and what the hell is so exciting about TEE SHIRT TIME??

8. 5 Degrees: In Eugene, it’s cold till like… May. At least that’s what I’ve been told. My apartment’s electric bill has skyrocketed with the climate being colder, and I’m sure yours has too, unless you’re already eco-conscious! By giving up 5 degrees and cuddling under a blanket instead, you’re saving money and energy.

9. Drunk Facebooking/texting/dialing: …. it’s embarrassing, right? What better thing to give up for Lent than humiliation!

10. Jesus: wait! Hear me out. I’m thinking, Lent is when you’re supposed to give up something you love. If you’re practicing Lent, it would be safe to assume that you love Jesus. Therefore, isn’t it arguable that giving up Jesus for Lent would be an excellent candidate for sacrifice?

Welcome back :)

2 Responses to “hyp·o·crite (noun)”

  1. Jess J. March 22, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    #1 yes! Moderation is key. #2 being judgey sucks–excellent candidate for Lenten sacrifice #3–Jesus (although I think despite your Atheism you were joking here?) May not apply as its not sacrificing something you love, but something that keeps you from spiritual connectedness. So for those practicing Lent, that’d be counter-productive.

    • wheresmypulse March 22, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

      :) that was indeed a joke! I agree with you, though. Thanks for the perspective!

Leave a Reply

