Deactivate. I dare you.

6 Sep

I’d like to think you’ve saved us both some time by reading the “about” section of this blog, but let’s be honest… that probably didn’t happen. So, I’ll take advantage of my dear friends copy & paste, and explain to you in greater detail what this blog is all about. Oh, and just an FYI — Before I got sucked into the abyss of the unproductive time consuming monster that is Facebook, I used to write. And guess what? I was good. And believe it or not, I was funny! But, like so many other people held captive by this social network and the refresh button, I lost interest in my passions. I lost my individuality and my voice. The good thing is, it’s like getting back on a bicycle after a few years: you’re a little wobbly at first, but eventually you’re soaring effortlessly. You’re probably starting to wonder what my point is. And I just realized that I don’t really have anything better than “I suck at writing right now, but if you stick with me, I promise to get funnier and more interesting!” …..Please?

If you’re reading this sentence, then I’m patting myself on the back, because either my writing isn’t as shitty as I thought it was, or you’re just a really nice person (in which case, you should be patting yourself on the back). Are you excited? You should be, because I’m about to tell you why this blog even exists, and how it’s going to change your life — if you let it. Here’s the deal:

I’m just your average twenty-something girl floundering my way through a world that revolves around social networking, a college student’s #1 excuse to do absolutely nothing productive whatsoever. Around a month ago, I realized that I’m basically no one. I’m a big fat nothing with a pretty face and nothing inside to show for it. When I was younger, I used to read, write, draw, ride horses, play soccer, swim, run cross country, learn, paint my nails, play piano… And now what do I do? NADA. Absolutely nothing. What is my problem?  What do I live for? Where is my pulse? After more than 5,000 status updates, 1,076 pictures, 997 amigos, over a million comments, and and embarrassing number of hours per day, I realized what the issue was and decided it was about time to end my toxic relationship with facebook and focus my time on something a lot more intriguing: the real world. I know, right? Well, that’s my plan, and I’m sticking to it. Try to answer the question “what do you like to do in your free time?”. If the only answers you can come up with are lame ass ones like “tv, movies, friends, internet, family, shopping” and/or if you spend more than twenty (yes, twenty) minutes on Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr–whatever–a day, I have a challenge for you: Deactivate. Or, if you can’t bring yourself to do that, at least make an effort to cut back on your usage. For Christ’s sake, GET A LIFE. I’ll help you!

Leave a Reply

